Speed Training

I have been running for around 18 months. During this time, I have twice entered a 5k Park Run and completed a Half Marathon. I am extremely pleased with my efforts and especially pleased with the fact that I haven't given up (something I am prone to doing!)

Now however, I believe it is time to pick up the pace (litterally). I have looked into joinging a club to help me however, due to the times I work, this isn't really possible, so I am left to my own devices.

My mane goal is to try and improve my 5k times - and eventually build from there.

I have read the various ideas bounced around for improving pace, so taking that into consideration, I thought about utilising the C25K program. I used this to start me running so I know that it is designed to build endurance, so why wouldn't it work for speed.

I was planning on using this program and running at speed during the run periods and walking/slow jogging during the walk periods.

Would this be a beneficial way of training to help increase speed? If I am going to maintain a faster speed for longer distances, then I need to slowly build this up so what better way??

Comments

• What's your current training schedule and what sort of pace are you aiming for?
  • At present I don't have any specific training schedule.

I go out 3 or 4 times a week and do on average 3 - 4 miles at a time. My pace is around 10:00 min/mile and I would like to reduce this to about 08:00 min/mile to begin with

Saying that, my last Park Run had me at a 09:17 pace.

• Ok. Well if you've been doing quite a few 5k runs already I imagine you may find the C25k programme a bit too basic.