how many days a week?

hello everyone,

I did start running a few weeks ago and i am new to it. I've been running/jogging for about four or five weeks and i am improving and getting faster with time.

My quiestion is regarding the "training programs and shedules" i download from websites. I am using one training schedule that i find easy to follow and efective. But in that particular training guise it says t run 6 days a week, with saturday being the only rest day.

When i looked at other programs (training guides), they have about three days rests a week, running only four or five days a week.

This is why i am asking here for advice, and what do people think? Is it normal to run six days a week? or it is better for me to leave off two more days of the program guide and run only four days a week?

Personaly i find it hard the six days a week training because of time. I work full time and have a life, and i also do other sports on top of running. Running is not the only sport i do, as i do martial arts, gym work and swimning, and aerobics classes.........................

and anyway, i heard that the muscles need a rest and a change of exercise, so the six days a week run may be too much. I am confused,

Do you think is better to run only four days a week?  especially when one is active the other days?

Comments

• Four days a week should be fine, particularly when you're doing lots of other exercise as well, so in effect, cross-training on the days you're doing those sports. Six days a week running would probably be overdoing it. I followed a four-runs-a-week schedule fine for my first half-marathon.

[edited for typo.]

• For the first year I was running steadily, I was doing 3 days a week, and I think this was good for me in that I didn't end up with too many niggles and no major injuries. (And a couple of marathon times that I was happy with.)