should i tri this

am a total beginner, have just done my first marathon (4h25min).
But i'm thinking of tri (considering doing the London Tri), in order that the varied training will be enjoyable.

I did a bit of competition swimming when i was a child, but no competitive or serious swim training since.

I know absolutely nothing about bikes but have been thiking of asking father xmas for one to begin multi-sport training.

Am i realy mad to consider this tri caper (and London Tri)???????.
I also live in Italy (where they are bike mad) but do not seem to have many tri clubs, so will train on my own as i do for my running.

comments, advice , encouragement would be welcome.

Thanks Macky.

Comments

• Why not? But surely you can find a couple of sprint events in Italy to try first? Not because you couldn't handle the distances, it's hard to explain, but there's more to tri than just plain swim/bike/run. It's more a combination of dealing with all your equipment, transitions from one discipline to the other, the way your legs feel when you climb off the bike and try to run, etc etc. Plus open-water mass swim starts can be quite a shock. London Tri is probably too highly competitive to be a good choice for your very first attempt. Maybe others on here will have a diffeerent view, but that's my two cents' worth.
  • You have done the marathon excellent well done just do some swimming and take advantage of the bike friendly country you are in and sign up for an ironman next year. You have loads of time and its the only distance worth doing. No problem. Do some shorter ones as training races and to get the feel of it and you will soon get the hang of it. Good luck.