Up the workers!

Comments

• Nam wrote (see)
     All these people going round openly admitting "oooh you couldn't pay me enough to be a secondary school teacher... a nurse in an old people's home.... a child protection social worker...."

Get that all the time:

"what do you do?"

"I'm a teacher"

"Ooh, nice long holidays, get to leave work at 3.30pm every day, alright for some etc"

"do you have a degree?"

"Yes"

"In that case you could train to be a teacher in a year, get some of the benefits"

"Ha ha no chance you're joking, couldn't put up with all those kids etc"

• I know someone who's an assistant deputy head I think her title is. She works absolutely crazy hours and puts up with some right little sh1ts.

I couldn't do it, I'd be up for manslaughter.

• Jeepers wrote (see)
    SophieC wrote (see)

The only thing is that all the time education is compulsory for 5-16 year olds, I can't see how the government could cease all involvement.

Set schools up as Academies, just bung in the Pupil Premium, then b*gger off, oh and destroy the LAs in the process as they are the real target.

If the government contribute a pupil premium they will still have a vested interest in the use it's put to and will want to know how it's being spent.  Indeed this is very much the current thinking: schools become academies, and govern their own affairs.  BUT no government would risk putting education out to tender wholesale, becuase if it goes tits up it would be such a huge vote loser.

LAs do serve a purpose, eg in terms of admissions, as they ensure every child has a place at a school, and depending on the area do a bit of social engineering so there's an even 'spread' of children from different backgrounds in different schools (though some don't regard that as a positive in the slightest!)

"Also the amount of jobs having to be supported by the private sector."

Public sector workers pay Tax also you know.