Black Toes

I did my first marathon in March and ended up with black toenails, 4 of them and 2 nails subsequently dropped off. Being a newbie i didn't know about the half size bigger thing, so i immediately bought new shoes half a size bigger and yesterday did my next marathon on a hot day. The last 5 miles were painful in the toes. I have those funny 'Roman' toes where the second toe is longer than the first and they were really painful and made the race in the last 5 miles miserable.

What can i do about this, should i go up a whole size? if i do that will my feet move around and then run the risk of blisters - which so far i have avoided.

Help!

Comments

• I have my running trainers a whole size bigger as i get black toes as well. I have Roman toes to and half a size bigger still gave me manky toes. i also buy double layered running socks and i dont suffer with blisters.
  • PlookPlook ✭✭✭
    Thanks for your reply. I think a full size bigger is the answer, good to know this from someone with the same problem.
  • Hi I have the same problem. My 2 nd toes are much longer than my big toes and curl over ! Horrid.
    These long toes were so painful after a long run - my friend who has the same toe problem told me about these toe end cushions - you can get them from Boots. They are £4 each but just do the job.
    They look like mini condoms! Well toe size.
    They are part of the Boots Advance Footcare range - They are called Toe End Cushion - they are brill and i wouldnt be training for a marathon without them.
    They are really comfy with a gel inner lining and elasticated fabric outside.
    They are on a normal shelf in the Feet dept of Boots with all the corn plasters!! - doesnt say anything about running on them but they work a treat!
  • PlookPlook ✭✭✭

Nicola, thanks for that. Do you wear a bigger size shoe though with your 'toe condoms'?

Really appreciate the info.