Running programme/website

Hello

I am wondering if I could have 5/10 minutes of your time

I am a student at Cardiff University doing an MSc in computing. As part of my dissertation I am required to design and implement a running programme/website to aid in training for running.

The first part of this is to work out what the requirements of the programme should be. I am looking for any suggestions that may be useful in a programme/website.

What I am planning for the programme to do is to record any training runs, with distance and times. To be able to plot a course on a map. To be able to plot an upcoming race on a map, which would then give you elevation information about the route so that you could tailor your training towards that race.

What I am wondering is that if you were using some programme/website what information would you like/require it to hold to aid in your training. Any ideas/help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Robert Darrock

Comments

• Hog-mouseHog-mouse ✭✭✭

Have a look at the programs / websites that already exist.

Fetch
    Map
    Garmin connect
    Sports tracker http://www.sports-tracker.com/
    BiM Active

Personally I like OS maps far more than google maps, much more info that I find useful. Elevation detail is a must and needs to be very good - look at map - the elevation detail is pants.

I'm not disciplined enough to use a training program or website or log my training. I know what I need / want to do each week, I don't feel the need to record that I've done it.

• I'd say some important features for some users would be the ability to track their footwear. This would mean that for each run they would state which shoes had been worn and the mileage would be added to that equipment.

This is something that can be done in SportTracks (application rather than website)

The ability to upload GPX/TCX files
    The ability to upload directly from a device