Newbie saying Hi

Hi there, i've just started running ( well started back in May ) so still relatively new to stuff

I did my first 5K as the Race for Life in 29mins  and then did my local village10K a few weeks ago in pouring rain ( but found it quite refreshing ) in 1hr 4mins

I'm doing the London 10K this sunday and i've als put in for the silverstone half marathon, going to put in for the bham half marathon in october and another 10k in lichfield in sept

I think i'm becoming addicted but i get such a buzz from doing it 

I'm still a novice, do i go with jelly beans or jelly babies, what are these gels that people talk about that are meant to taste yukky, do they taste that bad?

i feel i've got loads of questions so hope no one minds me asking 

I'm running on Sunday for the Down's syndrome association as my eldest daughter has Down's syndrome ( her name is Hannah, hence my user name ) She is my inspiration

Comments

• Hi, Hannahsmom!
    I'm a newbie too - joined the forums yesterday so still feeling my way around. Seems like a really supportive place, though.
    I started running in Feb and am now running 12.5k ish reasonably comfortably. It's great for the weight loss, confidence, and the overall feel good factor, so I know what you mean about the buzz! Sounds like you're making great progress. My next race is the Swansea 10k (sept) then I'm looking at a 10 miler in Feb and a half marathon in Mar. Lack of time to train hampers my running, but I generally manage 3 runs a week on average.
    I've tried both gels and the Lucozade jelly beans. Prefer the beans, but not really sure how much of a boost they gave me. The gel (again,Lucozade) wasn't great, but neither was it particularly foul... I'd give them both a go and find out what works best for you.
    Good luck for the run on Sunday; it's a great cause too.
    WS
  • CindersCinders ✭✭✭