Speedwork or VO2 max ?

Hi,

I have a current 10k time of 55 minutes and I'm in training for the Helsby 1/2 marathon using this schedule. However, I'm a bit preplexed as to what speed I should be doing the speed sessions at.

For threshold training I've been using this article because it contains a usefule table showing different training speeds based upon your current 10K time. My problem is that in the article, Amby Burfoot asserts that I shouldn't be doing speedwork at all - I should instead be doing VO2-Max work. So the table doesn't give any figures for speedwork.

Can anyone give me any guidance ?

thanks in anticipation,
Mikey

Comments

• Mikey,

I'm no expert, but have been running a few years and have used the article by Amby Burfoot to tailor my training.

VO2 - Max work IS speedwork. So instead of running at the 4 x 800m at 5K speed(or whatever speed is recomended on the schedule), run at your VO2 max (as indicated by your 10K time) for 4 x 800M.

It's quite tough, so don't really need to do more than once a week (if doing other speed sessions during the week).

The article was saying that there are three important runs that you should try and fit into your training. The RW schedule encompasses these but the Burfoot article gives you a more better gauge as to what speed you should do them.

One word of caution. It's probably worth checking your 10K time half way through the training schedule. It may have dramatically improved and you can then readjust VO2 max and lactate threshold runs accordingly.

Hope this helps

• Mikey,

Don't know if I mad it clear that you substitute one of the speed/interval sessions in the training plan for an interval session run at VO2 MAX pace. Don't add it in as an extra session. You may overtrain and exhaust yourself.

cheers
  • I agree with KP - speed work will increase VO2 Max.