ithlete for the iphone

Hello all,I've carried out a search for this and could only find one vaguely relevant post...Has anyone tried out the ithlete app available for the iphone? I understand the app itself costs about £6 and then the receiver is a further £30 ish.  You also need a HRM strap - which I already have.Anyway, the claim is that it helps you avoid overtraining by monitoring your heart rate and the variation. I have been told it's also good for analysing your workouts to see if you could have been working harder. I'm aware that this can also be done by knowing your body well and taking your pulse in the morning etc.

All of that aside, I'd be really interested in any reviews or feedback from you knowledgeable bunch. So if you have one or have tried it what do you think? Is it worth the money or just another fittness gimick?

Thanks image

Comments

• Hi Nikki,

I have been using the iTHLETE for about 14 months now.  When I first started using it I was trying to prove it wrong but I couldn't catch it out.  At that time I was recovering from a new PB at the London marathon and I found it guided me well through the summer and I ran a very good time at the Great South in the autumn.  It was very interesting watching my iTHLETE reading increasing as I tapered for the Great South.  After getting my 2.45 qualification for the Championship start at London I ended up getting swine flu and missed London in 2011.  In the space of around 3 weeks I went from a runner who was very comfortable running 20+mile training runs almost every week to somebody who couldn't run more than 2 miles.   I have been taking a long time to recover and am only now starting to race again.  The iTHLETE has guided me extremely well on my path to recovery.