Marathonfoto.com

Am I the only one who thinks their prices are obscene? I am a professional photographer myself and I understand how much work goes into this, but as someone who has covered F1 races, we dont even charge multi million pound F1 teams the kind of money these websites want for what are (99% of the time) average photographs,

And boy do they spam your inbox, I think they would make 10x the money if they sold them much cheaper, I dont know anyone who has bought one personally, but if they were like £4/5, I think most of my friends would have at least bought 1 over the years,

I just think the prices they charge are beyond ridiculous,

/rant

Comments

• I agree, I'd have bought some over the years if they were cheaper but I cannot justify spending that sort of money on photos in which I always look like sh1te!
  • The prices are set at what people will pay. I find the quality of the photos to be the biggest issue. Without exception, they're all shit.
  • thats just it, i think people dont pay it, i'm sure some people do, they must do in order to stay operational, but by being greedy i think they lose a huge number of customers, lower profit per image would bring in a far bigger turnover,

but yes i agree, the pictures are very rarely good, perhaps as a photog myself i'm picky but many people agree, there was one photog though at the silverstone half marathon this year, he/she was shooting people as they were in the pitlane exit, his/her photographs were very good, not many of them but they were very well taken.
  • I've very rarely bought race photos - and only for the iconic finish ones like 1st marathon, 1st Ironman etc.

as others have said, most are shit anyway - why do I want to see me looking like a dribbling idiot struggling to do my best yet again??

overpriced repeats of previous photos of me - waste of money
  • They have to charge a high unit price as not many people buy them. I know I don't.