headache after running

I'm fairly new to this running lark, but have hit a bit of a problem. Whenever I have a really good run (over 6 miles or 60 minutes) I tend to develop a headache soon after finishing. I always take water with me (250ml) but don't eat before I run as I get indigestion. I now drink some water with a rehydration tablet in when I've finished, but last night still found myself getting a stinking headache.

Is it just me, or is there something that I should be doing?

Cheers!

Comments

• Hi I get the same not all the time just now & then but I do suffer migrains , as you have already said drink with rehydration tablets , a 10 mile run I will have 2 pints with tablets & 2 just water this really helps . Also avoid dark chocolate & parcetamol these can make it worse . If they persist see your doctor you can get some migrain tabs on prescription melt on Tongue work in an hour
    Hope this helps Martin
  • BookyBooky ✭✭✭

Whereabouts in your head is the pain and what sort of pain?

• It's like someone pressing down on my head. Looking at jacktomomax's reply, I wonder if I'm getting dehydrated. I'm only having about 330ml after a run.
  • stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

hydration isn't just after the run - make sure you've drunk enough in the day before your run.  As a simple test try drinking 1 or 2 litres of water the day before.  If you run in the morning before work, then just a small drink before setting out.  If you run in the evening try drinking 1 litre of water during the day.  You'll probably pee lots during the day, but as long as you stop drinking at least an hour befor your run you should be OK while you are out.

Then see how you feel afterwards. If it gets rid of the headache, you can then experiment to find out how much additional fluid you need to add to your daily routine.

• BookyBooky ✭✭✭