VLM 2012 Outsiders Thread

Hi all,

I thought I'd start a thread for those who don't feel they don't quite belong on any of the other VLM threads. First a bit about me: 

I'm not a beginner, I'm not a VLM virgin and I'm not a sub 3, 4, or 5 hour runner.

My first VLM (FLM) was in 2007 when blisters and heat meant I crawled in in 6.02  when I was hoping for about 5.20. This time I'll be 5 years older and creakier. I know I wont be able to rack up hundreds of miles in training because my body won't let me. I know I'll get bored and cranky but I do know I'll have a whale of a time come Aprill 22nd and I hope to finish about 45 minutes faster than last time.

So, if there's anyone else out there who doesn't quite fit anywhere else this is the place to come. Pull up a chair, have a virtual Hob Nob, tell us your story and let's share the experience.  

Screamy x

Comments

• WaboWabo ✭✭✭
    screamy I am not even doing it but will watch you and here's to a good one for you!
    possunt quia posse videntur - we can because we know we can 
  • WaboWabo ✭✭✭

ps I have done 9 london, times vary from 6.20 down to 4.18, have never managed sub four but am cheerleader to sub four cos I dont actually think I ever will do it!

Good luck with your training

possunt quia posse videntur - we can because we know we can 
  • Hello. I'll join you, if I may. I've done a couple of marathons before in unspectacular times - 4.50 and 4.38 - but never London, or any really big one. I'm not in a running club and have no friends. Well - I mean I won't know anyone in London. I have a ballot place in my fifth year of entering. I will have to turn down the virtual hobnob because I could do with losing a few lbs. And running more. And being a bit faster. And younger.

• Hi Que Sera - welcome aboard image

I'd be well chuffed with 4.38 so well done!

Have you started your training yet?