VLM 2012 first timers???

Comments

• If you ever check out the Marathon Des Sables and see what the docs do to blisters (they cut off all the skin around it) this helps stop infections, but by heck it's painful.
  • Len -

I graduated Sheffield hallam in 2003 and then stayed around for about a year before coming to Leeds. When did you finish uni ? Hallam or Uni ??image

• OMG Rachel you're making me feel old lol! I graduated (Uni) in 1997 imageimage .... my child is the same age as your degree lol!
  • You're both making me feel old image  Unless of course Len didn't bother going to uni unitl he was 30 or something! image
  • Oi! I'm a girl!! image

Admittedly, Len is a boy's name, so you're forgiven image. I'll also answer to Lennie image

x

• image  Sorry Len!!   Easy done on forums, someone once thought I was a bloke! image 

You're still making me feel old though!! image

• TST it's got nothing to do with age...that 100 year old guy who ran the marathon is in MUCH better shape than I am!

• Yeah, he's amazing isn't he!  Think I'm just feeling old and past it today image 

Need to start drawing up some sort of training plan and get myself inspired again I think.   Anyone else started forming a vague plan of action yet?

• I live in Chapel Allerton, how about you? 

I saw on that 100 year old marathon runner on the news last night, and they said they'd done some medical tests on him and then gave the tests to 4 doctors who didn't know anything about him and asked them how old they thought he was based on the tests and the doctors said 40!!! Amazing. 

• I'm a first timer too. The thing that scares me the most is the chaffing. image
  • Thanks for the great tips alsoran. I'm not even going to attempt to train to a time, my aim really is to run all of it, or as near to all of it as I can.