Hull Marathon?

I posted this in General, but think I got the wrong place.

Hi All, I'm new posting to this forum (have been lurking for a while) and it seems to be the place where those in the know, know.

I'm just getting into my running again after a long lay off (and several pounds laying on) and have read that the hull marathon is going ahead in 2012. I'm quite excited about the prospect as it's home turf but other than the news piece on the hull daily mail website (http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/Hull-hopes-host-marathon-Olympic-year/story-13022897-detail/story.html)I can't find any other info.

Anyone know what's going on or where I can find more info?

Cheers

Jon

Comments

• alib1975alib1975 ✭✭✭
    I dont know anything and havent heard any one else mention it but it would be great if they did.  I havent ran  a marathon before and wasnt planning on running  one next year but I would  give it some serious consideration. 
  • WOW! yes that will be great if they do! There used to be one apparently but they've only organised the half for years now! I'll look out for any info!!
  • I've just had an email from the organisers of Hull Marathon 2012, so it's definitely going ahead but they as yet haven't released the date.

• I've just had a text from a friend who's brother runs for a local club and he says they've had an email this morning confirming the event.

I had a look and the hullmarathon.com website and it says "coming soon"

So it's all looking positive, I'd better dig the running shoes out and get pounding the pavement!

• The inaugural race will take place on 8th April 2012. More info here. Registration started today. I am signed up!
  • Great - but why does it have to be on Easter Sunday? It's like organising a race on Christmas Day! No chance of getting time to do this race.

Doubly frustrating, as I have a free entry to Hull M and wanted to do a marathon in April next year.