Hats and gloves anyone?

Finally dragged my arse out of bed for an early morning run today. Had a four or five week break since the clocks altered and only just got re-motivated. Damn it was cold. I'm fairly new to running and this is my first autumn/winter. Where do people stand on hats and gloves? I feel that they'd be lovely and toasty for a K or two but then get all hot and sweaty and urghhh! Any recommendations out there.

Comments

• 15West15West ✭✭✭

I wore gloves today on my lunchtime run. Your hands and head can get pretty cold when running so I recommend purchasing some.

I wear gloves that I use for cycling and they do me ok - have a look on wiggle or any running websites, plenty of options. You don't have to spend a fortune.

• I'll often wear gloves at the start of a run but I'll take them off once I'm warmed up, and it needs to be pretty cold for me to keep them on. I generally use fairly light gloves, but they have the windstopper material in them. I only use a hat (as opposed to a cap) when it's really cold i.e. well below freezing, and that's just to protect my ears. I use a fleece hat that I got as a race souvenir. I use a cap when it's raining sometimes just to try to keep the rain off my glasses, but to be honest it isn't that successful. If I need to take the hat or gloves off at any point I just shove them down the back of my shorts. As I wear Skins compression shorts they're held in place without problem and they don't cause any discomfort at all, not even the solid brim on the cap.
  • Hats and gloves appear when the temperature is 5 degrees or below. Anything warmer than that and they are unneccessary after 10 minutes of running.

• If it's that cold you may well be wearing a jacket or something with pockets anyway. I got a cheap pair of gloves and a hat from Sports Direct, both work a treat, they don't get too sweaty either, I can run a good 15k in them, no problems.