Newton MV2s

Christmas is coming and looking for a present. I currently run in Newton distance racers and like them. I was wondering if anyone had got the MV2s yet and if so what they thought of them?

Comments

• Hi, I have been testing the MV2 since they were launched in the USA 2 months ago, and although I m slightly biased towards Newton shoes as I have been running in this type of shoes for the past 4 years.

I have only tested them on runs up to 10km, and for that distance I find them perfect. Lightweight, responsive and best bit is that the lugs underneath are finally spaced all the way to the edge/side of the shoe meaning that when going through cornerns or track work one doesn't feel as unstable as lets say in the Distancia. 

The shoe itself is a zero drop shoe, however it comes with an additional 3mm insole for the heel that you can put in for a few weeks to adjust to a more minimal shoe. I have taken the insoles out now, and I find them perfect for the above distance of 10km. Mind you I m not yet sure how I would feel if I took them above 10km.

Just keep in mind that they come up small in comparison to the normal newton, I went a full size bigger to ensure I had a correct fit, and this seems like a common occurance from most runners who have bought the MV2.

Additionally, with Winter now in the onset I will not use them MV2 that much, especially if its raining as the mesh upper would make my feet get wet a little to quickly. But otherwise a great shoe, if not a very quick shoe.

• Your post got me over to Newton's web site.

Quite like the look of the Gravity but unsure whether it would be suitable for some of the muddy trails I like to squelch along with doggo.

Any thoughts as to their suitability or alternatives?