Running with depression

Hi I'm trying to help my sister who has been diagnosed with severe depression but it has been a long time coming she has not been well for over 2 years.

I spoke to her on Monday and we both signed up for a 10km on March 3, my sister was happy to do this but I need some advice how to handle training her I don't want to push too hard but I'm going to need to if we are to finish the 10km. I've been running for many years, but I have no idea how to train my sister under the circumstances.

Any help, ideas and advice welcome

Thanks

Gareth 

Comments

• You're a great brother Gareth. Running and exercise are great anti-depressants. How fit is your sister now? I'd focus more on her fitness than her mental health in terms of making a plan for the race. Why do you think you'll need to push her hard for you to complete the 10k? Is there a time limit?
  • No she's not fit at all and she is quite over weight, which for me i'm not a doctor but is part of the problem, emotional eating.

No limit on time as she has been signed off work.

Cheers for your reply Little Ninja

• Good luck to you - hopefully running will help, even if only a little.

My suggestion would be to take everything in small amounts.  If she has not been running before, then I'd suggest a gradual warm up, maybe 20mins at a time, 2 or 3 times a week, running, walk/run, whatever she can manage.   Then, if she takes to that and hopefully starts to feel better, you could look at a 10k plan.

It's difficult to know at this stage whether a structure would help her or cause her stress if she has to do something on one day, but can't - from experience of supporting people with depression, I've found that giving them a structure and gently nudging them to follow it helped them, as you're taking away the need for them to make a decision, which they're possibly not able to at the time.