Talkback: ASICS Target 26.2 Team: Colin

Comments

• Interesting stuff Steve regarding pacing of a half 3 weeks before the marathon. In reality although these are races they are not “A” goal races. Would a half done 3 weeks out be more of a good indicator of predicted marathon pace than one run 6 -8 weeks out, if run in the manner you suggested (starting off at MP then pushing more int he last 10)?
  • Interesting stuff on racing a HM and 20 milers.  I am not sure I would be brave enough as I have never done it before.  

I ran a 20 mile race last year but treated it as a progressive run, starting off at MP+40s, running 8 miles at MP and then finishing with a couple of fast miles.  It was great to be passing hundreds from the halfway mark and finishing strongly.  Also no recovery needed afterwards and was running the next day as normal.

• I ran a 20 mile race in 2009 as part of my prep for my spring marathon and I reckon I left a good proportion of a decent time for the marathon on those roads. I did 3-19 that year at London when aiming at sub 3-15 and looking back I ran the 20mile race too quickly in 2-21 which was quicker than MP at about 7m03s pace. I just never truly recovered and kept plugging away making myself more tired.
  • Re 20 mile races - I've done one in the lead up to some of my recent marathons and wholeheartedly agree that they take more out than they give back.  I've done these at marathon goal pace and although they gave me a great psycological boost I am convinced they had a significant contribution to me struggling in the last few miles of the marathon.  They don't appear in my schedule (just finished it) for next spring!!!  Oh, i'm not one of Steve's ultra men but am one who needs to plan to get through the last few miles OK, hence the above.