Prolapsed disc

Hi everyone,

I originally posted on here after having lower back pain for about 1 month and was seeing a physio and osteopath who both said i had an anterior tilt of the left side of my pelvis. The osteopath said had a slack SI ligament due to my pelvis having been twisted for a long time. I went to see a private orthopaedic physician who sent me for an mri scan after giving me a caudal epidural that did not make any difference (this was a diagnostic tool).
The MRI scan showed that I have a prolapsed lumbar disc(L3 region). The doctor said he is going to continue with the epidurals (I have had 2 and he said he will continue up to 4) and if they dont work then will send me for a surgical opinion for a possible discectomy. Apparently the discectomy is not too successful in removing pain unless you have sciatica. Also, I obviously dont want to undergo any surgery unless I have to, but this pain is controlling my life. I want to be able to run (I mis it so much)and cycle and play sports and go to the gym and feel free and healthy again. I also want to go travelling (I am 23 and have 8 months until I start work). I have just qualified as a dentist as have a job that starts in August... this is also a concern for me... working with this pain will be extremely uncomfortable and the position I will be working in all day will not be very good for my back with this problem. I also want to be able to learn to drive before I start work but sitting in the car for a prolonged period of time is painful.

I was wondering if any of you have had this problem before and if you can give me any advice. How long does it takes to recover? I am getting more and more frustrated as my fitness diminishes and I feel unhealthier and unhealthier. Is there anything I can do to speedthe process along? I have had this low back pain for 4 months now.

I appreciate that other people are far far worse than me, and really feel for them.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks.