Shin splints and flight socks.........

Having suffered with shin splints for the last 4 months despite periods of rest, sports physio, gait analysis, decreased mileage etc I am now trying my own and seems to be successful cure, flight socks.

Now I know this seems mad but I am not completly clutching at straws here. I am a practice nurse and regularly prescribe compression stockings to people for all kinds of veins, aches, swelling etc. Having read lots of articles on compression for shin splints I worked out the mg of mecury conversion in terms of compression that I required and it worked out as the equivelent of 2 flight socks worn on the same leg.

Result at end of week 1 - pain free running and half the price of sports compression socks - bargin.

Comments

• gotcha!  i will certainly try! thank you so much! and i too am definitely more snail than hare - i actually came last in a race i did in december but thoroughly enjoyed it image
  • Do you think this remedy would help with sore achilles & lower calves?

• Silly question but when do you wear the socks - during or after running?
  • Not sure about the achilles but in theory it should work. You wear the socks during running and only 1 sock afterwards if your a little sore during the day but always removing at night.

Yesterday entered a fun run- havn't been able to run more than 3 miles a go in the last 4 months due to pain, yesterday, I wore the socks, thinking it was 3 miles, turned out to be 8 miles !! Today however I am pain free. Two weeks ago I attempted 3.5 miles without the socks and had to stop for 48 hours afterwards due to the pain, the same the week before. Wore the socks and managed 8 miles without a problem.

• do you mind my asking where you bought the flight socks from? image
  • I brought mine from amazon, about five pounds for the pair. Good luck, let me know how you get on with them.