Tips on asking for a pay increase

I am planning to ask my empolyer tomorrow for a pay rise and I am wondering if anyone has any advice.  I have never asked an employer before for a pay rise.  I know the small IT company I work for charges me out at 4 times per day what I get paid and also I win business for them and I am crucial in the delivery of new business.  I also found out today that a company will sign up to services with the company I work for if I am technical lead on the project.

I know I have to ask and this is my moment but I am not very good at asking for anything.  I have a meeting already scheduled with my boss.

Comments

• There aren't any rules..   you just have to ask....    if yuo feel under-valued then you always have the option leave.   Maybe consider starting up your own business..?

Its a tough world out there and now isn't a good time to be asking for a pay rise I would guess....

Best of luck though....

Keep it realistic..  there will be a 'market rate' and that's what you should aim at...  other options could be more holiday or other benefits that don't actually cost cash....

• I would echo that and add that 'you' are not crucial to new business but your role quite possibly is

If you think you are undervalued then be prepared to have some sums to back up your request and also be prepared that the answer may be no
  • Thanks for the feedback, I will think things over a bit more and see how the meeting goes.  Hopefully I will still be emloyed tomorrow evening......