Marathon training while travelling?

Hi,
I'm doing Brathay Windemere marathon in May which will be my second marathon. Training is going well so far, but looking ahead in the diary I have two tours scheduled (I'm a musician) and am worried about training while away. The first one should be fine as the schedule doesn't look too heavy and the long run will happen in the canaries (perfect!), but Early April I'm working in Hong Kong, China and Korea for 12 days and should be doing two long runs in that time, at least one of which will be around the 20 mile mark.

Don't get me wrong - I like exploring new places by running, but going out for twenty miles in a place that I don't know the language or terrain etc. has got my knickers in a twist! Not to mention not knowing my work schedule there yet. Has anyone had to do their long runs somewhere really unfamiliar and do you have any tips for finding routes etc. in different countries?

Ta very much!
Laura

Comments

• I thinksmall loops would be your best bet for getting distance in  ? 20 miles is a long way to do as one loop
  • I run in strange places when travelling all the time, but then I'm a guy. However I have never been hassled in any of the countries I have run in and they are spread all over the world. If you have a relatively good sense of direction its never a problem getting back. Being a marine consultant most of my trips take me near the sea so i have a tendancy to run beside the sea which makes navigation easy.  If you have a garmon there is always the return to start option. Then theres the sun in the countries you mention its always in the South at noon. Just look when you head out.

I wouldn't worry about the language bit I have run in Japan, China and Russia places where i most certainly couldn't read any street signs etc and its never been a problem, always managed to buy water etc from a petrol station or shop and if totally lost taxi drivers always know Hilton ' crowne plaza etc.