5K to Marathon in 6 months?

Hi, I'm new on here and would love some advise from experienced runners. I just started running last week, and have a place for london marathon in April 2012. This gives me just under 6 months to train. This is probably absolute madness as I'm finding that I can't run for much more than 5k at the moment, but I'm hoping with the right training I would have just enough time to be prepared. I'm 20 years old and am not overweight - hopefully this'll be an advantage! Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Many people go from no running to a marathon in 6 months.  Buy a copy of The Runners Handbook from Amazon, it has beginners training plans and is full of advice.
  • Congrats on securing a place for the London Marathon!

I'm definitely no expert or by any means experienced, but thought I would offer my view from a newbie perspective as I have recently completed my first marathon!

I started running in the new year, so in total I've been running for 10 months, but in terms of marathon-specific training with long slow runs it was 5 months. But when I say 'marathon-specific' I must admit I did not follow any structured plan...

So did I find this was sufficient preparation for the marathon? Well, yes and no.

I think the time scale I'd allowed myself was long enough (and I think probably 6 months for you could be OK too) - but I after the marathon I definitely realised that I should have been more structured in my approach and I should have clocked up more training miles.