Achilles Tendonitis Recovery

I had a severe case of Achilles Tendonitis recently, took two weeks off and have now been pain free for the past week. Any thoughts as to when I can start running again and how much is sensible to start with. I am very wary as this was quite the worst injury I have experienced and do not want a repeat.

Comments

• http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?dt=4&UTN=8022&V=8&SP=

945 posts on the subject of achilles tendonitis. Hope the link works.

On 5 May, I got achilles tendonitis. I have been running for 3 years and in January did a 28 mile coastal marathon. I regularly ran 20 miles on a saturday and then 10 on a sunday with 2 or 3 more runs during the week. I was going really well but in April, I did too many miles and my achilles decided to let me know. I got it after doing a 5 mile run and the following day it was painful to walk, climb stairs etc...

For 3 weeks I did eccentric leg exercises and didn't run. Then I started back. Couple of 2 and 3 mile runs and then 6 milers. After only 7 runs it flared up again. I haven't been running for nearly 6 weeks since the flare up and I am going for my first run tomorrow. I aim to run 2 miles, 3 times per week and then build up by 10% per week provided it doesn't flare up again.

It appears starting back too quickly with too many miles is a common occurrence and leads to it flaring up again. I still do exercises daily and self massage. Currently I have minimal stiffness in the morning, it goes after 7 or 8 steps. I have no pain in my achilles doing day to day activities. The only pain I have is if I sit on a chair, point my toes (achilles compressed) and rub the tendon firmly with the edge of my finger.

All sufferers have their own ideas about the best course of action but the only thing we all seem to agree upon is that time is the greatest healer.

Good luck.

• Thanks Smalleyboy.