Great South Run 2012

E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭

Roll up, roll up - who else is taking part in this fantastic 10 miler?

There are still places available if you're interested: Linky

After a cracking run by my mum in the last GSR; she persuaded me to take part again this year! This time I'm learning from experience that Jelly Babies at Mile 9 are never a good idea...

I know that it's a long way, off but just wanted to open a thread if anyone wants to chat/advice etc.

Comments

• I'll be doing it again this year, i've been doing it since 2007 and really enjoy it.

I'm also going to train properly for it this year so that i can get a decent time, The jelly babies help carry me through to the end.

If anyones got any good training advice i'm always willing to listen, 

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭

Hi Paul,

I find the people in pompey to be one fo the friendliest around.

For me, I've found speed work to be the key to the race. It's so flat that you can really make good time and as long as you dig in deep on the last mile along the seafront it's plain sailing.

My lesson's learned from last year is to take an earlier train. Our train took us to the start a little too close to the start time.

• Hi Emmy bug oragnised already for this year - very impressed!! Is your mum running with you again this year?

I'm undecided about whether to run or not - I did enjoy it but found it very crowded so didn't run as fast as I would have liked. But I raised money for charity which was more important than the time, and had  great support from this link, so you never know I may take up the challenge again this year......

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭

Hi Jelley,

She's the main push for this year. When I spoke to her - she was the one that really wanted to do it so i'm happy to run it with her!

I agree- it's very crowded but the support is first class and minus the last 2 miles against the seafront - it's a lovely run! image

• Did my first GSR last year and loved it!