6 hour race advice

Hi All,

I'm starting to think about doing my first Ultra this year, but going for a fairly "gentle" introduction (if that's possible). There's a 6 hour race in August that I'm quite tempted by. It's on a flat 2km loop (part gravel path and part asphalt). Some food & drink will be available at every passing of the start-line.

The idea raises a number of questions. Does training differ greatly to "regular" marathon training? How much longer should the weekend long-run be (if at all)? Are back-to-back long run days worth doing? When it comes to race day, how do you go about pacing? Is it start slow and then slow down?

Sorry for all the questions and sounding like a complete newbie, but I'm into unchartered territory here.

For the record: I've run 2 marathons and currently training for my third (Boston). Running about 55-70 miles a week. Long runs are currently at 20 miles and will build to around 22 before race day.

All tips & advice greatly accepted.

Comments

• SP13SP13 ✭✭✭

Hi OsloNeil. I am in the same position as you (nearly). I am planning to do my first ultra this summer - a 50km which is also a gentle introduction to ultra running. I have asked a couple of people for advice and they seem to be telling me that training is much the same as for marathon training and that long runs should not be any longer than the training for marathon long runs - 33-36km max.

I have also be told that the focus for the first ultra should just be to complete. Forget about time and pace, take it really easy to start with and just concentrate on finishing.

(for the record, I have run 6 marathons and log between 58 and 70km per week, peaking at 78km with a 36km weekend run)

I hope that is just a little help.... until someone with lots of experience can come along and help.

• SP13: Sorry about the belated reply. Thanks for the tips. Sounds sensible and pretty much what I was aiming for. I'll be reading the advice on your "First Ultra" thread with interest.