how undertrained is undertrained?

Right, I've been on the injury forums for some time. Still there.  It's make or break time for thie marathon.

Bascially: I am a 33 year old lady.  I've been running on and off for about 5 years. Did my first 2 half marathons in Oct and November 2011 (2 hours 21 and 2 hours 14).  I then pulled back on the training - but still running three times a week, until mid December where I started to up it again. Was running 4 times a week and up to 13 miles again at beginning of Jan when I got my first set of shin splints. 

Out for two weeks. One week no exercise at all - second week trained three times and started running again.

Did a 10 mile run - and shin splints again.  That was 3 weeks ago.  In those 3 weeks I've been training 3 - 4 time a week doing deep water running and XT.

I ran on the treadmill for the first time on tuesday - was ok.  I'm going my long run this sunday - 1 hour running, 1 hour on the bike. Physio agrees.

I've been doing strength training as hoping to build up body strength for lack of land running. I've been doing threshold training in the pool to build up stamina.

If my leg can't take the 1 running on sunday and the building up of running - then I am out and can't do the marathon.

But I think my longest run will have to be about 16 - 18 miles as not sure how I can build up to much more in 5 weeks.

I am the fittest I have ever been.  It's just this stupid leg.

Have people done the marathon with less training?  Am I insane and should I just call it quits now?

Comments

• (I've also failed to add that I currently have swelling just by my knee that I am actively hoping will just disappear just like that....becuase I'm that lucky!)
  • RicFRicF ✭✭✭
    Quit. I've done it loads of times. Trained for 20 marathons run 7.

🙂

• Yeah, slowly getting my head around the quitting thing......

• I'd give it a go, and if you fail on Sunday, call it quits. Is this for London or one earlier?