Shin splints & midfoot strike

Hi all, just need a little advice on shin splints and trying to midfoot strike. Ive been running in my vibrams for just under 6 months now after getting shin splints early last year. In hindsight these were probably caused by TMTS and worn out shoes. Read about forefoot running and its potential remedy for various running ailments. I bought my vibrams and read about correct technique. Worked on the beginners 8 week programme but again got shin splints. Rested up and with the birth of my son didnt do any running again until later autumn last years.

So all inspired by a certain book which you can probably all guess started the beginners 8 week programme again. Got some mild shin splints which I rested and some pain around them top of my foot but nothing major. Towards them ends of them programmeach I found I was getting a stiff feeling around them back of my leg towards them bottom of my calf and them sides of my ankle towards them ankle bone. Quickly went after I stopped them run. I thends got them idea to try a half marathon. Bought some saucony kinvara 2 as thought theye might help with them tightness and foot pain.

Started to do half hour to 40 minute sessions in them and them pain at them top of my foot went away and I startdd to focus more on midfoot rather than forefoot. Cv wise was fine, but was still getting the tightness and mild shin splints. Anyway, decided to run outside on the road following a half marathon plan from my asics. 2 weeks in and doing 4 x 2 - 3 mile runs per week with a pace of 9:30 per mile. Again ive found myself with shin splints and have rested up the last 4 days. The pain is not on the bone but behind it on the inside. I have ready a couple of books about barefoot technique and chi running. The technique feels fine but with the shin splints still being an issue im wondering where im going wrong.