Would you like some FatAss Action?

I have recently been listening to a few American podcasts on Ultra Running and they often refer to "FatAss" running events.

For those not familiar with the term a FatAss run involves a group of people meeting up and going for a run together. A route for the run would be published but is it very likely that would be no aid stations, route markers, finisher tee shirts. These events are very informal and is more of a social event/training run than a race. The other cool thing about FatAss events is that they are totally free image

I am still quite new to the Ultra running scene and there seems to be very few organised events in the area that I live (Tyne and Wear) Yet there are some fantastic trails near to where I live and even more in Northumberland.

So I am thinking of setting up a FatAss run in the summer and would like to know if there is anyone else that may be interested in helping set up the event or to just take part.

I would also like to hear from other people that have set up or would like to set up an event in their own area.

PS Should the UK use FatArse or FatBum instead of FatAss image

Comments

• I think it's a great idea, Tim. All the long runs we have to do in training for ultras can get pretty samey if done on your own or pricey if your doing events. I would definitely get involved if someone were to consider doing one in my neck of the woods - Oxfordshire. Might be worth doing them in conjunction with the TrailBlaze routes, although that would add some cost.
  • Nick LNick L ✭✭✭

good idea - there are plenty of long distance routes - national trails being one, but there are also many more regional ones.

In GLos for instance there is now the Winchcombe way - 40 miles or so i think, circular route...passing through some villages (chance to get supplies etc)

• Great thread title Tim - For a moment I thought I had hit the wrong bookmark on my browser! I will certainly join you and help out, count me in.