Tubulars

Being a total bike noob, I thought I'd ask. Weighing up new purchases and possibly a planet-x which comes with tubs on the deep section wheels.

Do they ride differently? Just how much of a ball ache are they to change? How long do they last? Are they more susceptible to cr@p roads?

....and is there a bike school I can go to where I can learn all these things?! image

Comments

• I use clinchers but then I am a mountain biker / pretend triathlete..

Planet x have a set of 40mm deep section wheels with aluminium breaking surface for £399??? I am sure they will swap those if clinchers scare you

Roadies say tubs are better, but then they also wear bike shoes / cleats that dont allow you to walk around inimage

I have not been on my MTB for a serious ride in 18 months image

• I train on clinchers and race on tubulars. Changing a tub is a piece of cake if you use Jantex tub tape. Main benefit as far as I am concerned is the lower weight of wheel that is possible. While carbon clinchers are improving they are still generally heavier than the tubular option and the carbon clincher rims have been known to crack under the pressure of the clincher bead.

Main drawback with tubs is the cost of the tyre itself and the fact they can't be easily repaired so one puncture often means binning them (there is a guy that does repairs but about £15 per repair IIRC, never used the service myself).

• I have tubs on my race wheels they feel faster but that may be the wheels i find them a doddle to change if you use tape not glue lots of how tos on you tube i use Tufo tubs if you get a flat you unscrew the valve squirt in some gloopy sealant and reinflate and jobs a good un they dont suffer from pinch flats like clinchers but cos of the cost i wouldnt use them for dsy to day
  • I'm more concerned about binning 7 months of training and the race entry for the sake of a few punctures.
  • I don't think they're worth it unless you're really pointy end and trying for kona.