joined runnung club...lost mojo

Hi

I have been running for almost 4 years now.  i started out to lose weight and in that time have lost about 4 stone. I have gotten my 10k time down from 1 hr to under 40 mins, completed a number of half marathons and 2 full marathons.  i have only ever ran on the roads and on my own.  i have had a few injuries but have always perservered and have reached a point where my weight and times are not improving.

people have always said that if i want to take my running to the next level i should join a club. also that running in a group makes life easier and the variety (tempo runs, trail runs, track session, repeats etc) would keep me interested.  trouble is i have seriously gone backwards over the past few weeks.  i was put with a group of much higher ability than me and i think trying to keep up has affected my head.

i have been dissapointed to have to walk a little at about 17 miles in to an 18 mile run, i was a little embarrased as i dont want to hold them back. since then i have done a few runs on my own, with 10k times worse than 46 mins! what can i do to regain my confidence? i am running a marathon in 6 weeks and dont feel its worth doing if i cant achieve 3.5 hours which i should be more than capable of.

has anyone else lost thier mojo in this way? is it purely psychological? can i get over it quickly?

Comments

• That happened to me too when I first started club running.  Is there anyone you can speak to at the club? There is usually a wealth of expertise, help and support on tap and you shouldn't be afraid to speak up.  I wish I had at the time as I hope (and know mostly) they would want you to enjoy your running.

I ended up getting dropped on what had been relatively steady runs and then took 2 years away from racing.  Don't let this happen to you - go have a chat with someone - you may just have overdone it a bit. There will be someone who can help you turn it around.