Mental illness and running

Comments

• I'm a geek and I know it.

I know plenty of people who work in health professions who have a history or current difficulties (disclosed or not). It's no surprise really, some people deal with their own distress by caring for others. Other people do it because they want to give back and genuinely help people in distress. And then there are psychiatrists. image

I'm not very good at sympathy SOLB, so...best of luck, worst things happen at sea, it's always darkest before the dawn. *firm handshake*

• Big D, that made me smile. Thank you for the attached sympathy I have applied it now so the I've-got-a-cold moaning should stop for about 40 seconds until it's expired. (I may have to confess it's really not even a bad one, sore throat and sporadic sneezing I suspect man-flu is ahoy though!)

I suppose you're right Ben-o it must be a really hard job to do and something fairly powerful must motivate people to get into it. None the less in my experience (which is very limited in the grand scheme of things) it's a rare and remarkable thing to find someone working in mental health who is still compassionate - I know why, I don't think I could do it either, but it makes it worth noting and celebrating in those that somehow manage it.

I have a docs appointment at my new doctors surgery in an hour, cos they like to meet new patients as it takes a long time to get notes across - I think it's sweet but what a tangled little mess I'd present today. I don't know what meds I'm on, I don't know what meds I'll be on in the next few days, I don't know whether they need to be prescribed by the doc or the crisis team. I don't know when the next appointment is to ask. I.don't.know. I don't want to go cos I'll feel like such a pleb and it's such a waste of time...hey ho standing doctors up is even worse. Could someone please push me in the direction of the shower?