Weight loss - run now or later?

I'll try and keep this short. I'm currently about 4 stone overweight. I should be about 12 1/2 stone at most and I'm currently about 16 1/2 stone, so I've 4 stone to lose to I'm at the heaviest I should be for my height (5ft 10). Although ultimately I want to get down to about 11 1/2 stone at most.

I was about 17.5 stone and I've lost about a stone since Christmas although I should have lost more, but that's a discussion for another day.

I've been running on and off for about 18 months and I quite like it, but I'm incredibly slow and I feel every bit of that extra 4 stone I am carrying. I've had a few knee niggles but no serious issues thankfully.

Basically I'm wondering which of the following is the best option for me. Bear in mind that I try to walk between 30 and 60 mins per day and I want to save my joints if possible.

a: Keep running now (3-4 times per week, about 3 miles per time and slowly increase the distance).

b: Stop running until I lose a bit more weight, say 1 or 2 stone.

c: Stop running until I get down to 12.5 stone.

Any thoughts? It would be good to hear from those who've lost quite a bit of weight themselves.

Thanks!

Comments

• I'm in a similar position with regards to weight, but haven't been running for as long as you. If you've managed to run so far, I would carry on; because your weight loss will be far quicker if you do! Just take it easy and perhaps try some other stuff as well (I have a dodgy knee, so do BodyPump twice a week to try and keep the surrounding muscles strong to help protect my knee).

Hope this helps.

• I am in a similar position too. Ran on and off for weight lose for a couple of years but not properly untill new year after 3 months of qiuting smoking. Changed my mind set a bit and focused my running on getting fit and not weight lose and focusing on good running nutrition.