Brighton vs London

OK - Well I am a beginner but have made good progress in training for a 2013 mararthon with realistic targets. Now as the entries for the 2013 are coming up I wanted to know peoples opinions on London vs Brighton ?? I am fully aware of the liklihood of getting into London via ballot is slim but do have a local charity that would be able to provide a place and I would be prepared to fundraise. However have had a few mates do the Brighton marathon who have really enjoyed it. As a first timer I am not too concerned with congestion and getting a PB ! ! Thoughts and advice or any other 2013 marathon suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Gemma

Comments

• This is not a serious suggestion, but what about doing both? I've not done a marathon yet either, but it's my aim to do both next year.

If you want to hedge your bets, enter both and if you get into London, you could defer, which would mean 2013 Brighton, 2014 London.

Sensible answers to follow...
  • Will definitely try the London ballot...got to be in it to win it! Will probably enter Brighton too. See how things pan out! I hear good things about Brighton and am thinking whether to not bother with the added stress of raising money. i Will raise money for charity it just means it doesn't matter if its 3 quid or 3 grand.
  • I opted for Brighton for my first. I decided that while I liked the idea of London, I really didn't want the uncertainty of the ballot nor the money raising pressure ON TOP OF the training and running pressure. I think for the first the added pressure to reach a value might make it all far too stressed.

It's not like I can compare the two, and the way I feel now I never will.

• So how was Brighton then Helen?