Vibram Fivefinger

Just wondering if this is normal with a first pair of Fivefingers - got some this afternoon, and have worn them about the house. All seems good, other than my big toes are a bit sore - it fades quickly once I take the FFs off, so I'm wondering if this is just "breaking them in", or something else?

Lengthwise they seems fine, I suspect I just have especially bulbous big toes. Anyone else had this?

Comments

• Never tried them, but being a rocket scientist I would guess its the shoes.

Odds on they are built to fit standard toes so if your toes are bulbous ....

• If you are getting a "hot-spot" on the outer edge of your big toe then I think that's pretty common for newbie VFF wearers. You could get them in other areas too.

Your skin will soon toughen up - key thing is to take it easy and not overdo it - don't want to get a blister or overly thick callus.

• It sounds like it's probably a minor fit niggle, or something to do with your gait (not a problem - just an individuality). Edit* of course, your gait will be entirely different running from how it is walking around the house. You're far more likely to be flexing your toes and using the big toe when walking. Maybe this is the issue?

I got really lucky with mine (wear women's 42 Bikila - I'm a guy). They give me far less blisters and rubbing than traditional running shoes. I found at first my left pinky popped out of the toe pocket occasionally: that foot is slightly shorter. As I wore them in, the fit got better and better. I've found VFFs to be much more robust than I expected, and I suspect they're going to last me far more than 500 miles of wear. Which is a good job at the price.

I do coat my toes up with Bodyglide before sliding into the shoes. You'll likely find that the shoes change shape and your feet adjust as you wear them more. As long as none of your toes are too long in the pockets - that rips VFFs to shreds extremely quickly.