Ultra Peaks 40

Has anyone else raced this before or signed up for this year?.

I entered back in November as my main challenge for the year. Not sure how it'll go as I've never done an Ultra before. I'll be happy just to finish.

Comments

• Do you mean the Ultra Race Peaks?
  • Yeah thats the one, in August. Think there is another with a similar name in September.

Its part of the Ultra Race series.

Sorry, I've got in the habit of calling it the Ultra Peaks 40 now.

• SDRR Gaz - Did it last year as my first Ultra, very well organised, clearly marked course, pretty good scenery and terrain, nice evenly spaced check points, great race top and medal. Very good choice for a first Ultra in my opinion. Not entered this year yet myself as have lots of races on the calendar already but may well enter nearer the time.
  • Thanks Alistair.

How did you get on with training for it? I've written up a schedule and daren't show the wife.

Did you find it much tougher than a marathon?

I'm looking forward to it, just hoping I get enough training in.

• I also did this last year - nice course, quite a lot on road towards end otherwise hard packed trail/cycle path, undulating without being particularly hilly, CPs every 10 miles - definitely good choice for 1st ultra image
  • SDRR Gaz - I had some injury issues which kept my training quite 'light' I pretty much followed a marathon programme at around 40 - 50 miles per week spread over 5 runs until 6 weeks out where I put in 2 or 3 60 - 70 mile weeks the difference being longer 'back to back' weekend runs, the longest of these being 20 miles run on road Sat 30 miles run / walk trail on Sun.