VLF 2012 Disaster, peeing pure blood at mile 13 & more.

To say im gutted is an understatement. I dont feel like celebrating, theres no champagne or sense of achievement. Im feeling quite low right now.

My background is I used to be overweight a lot, I lost 3 stone to run last years London marathon and my training times suggested a 5 hour finish, I did it with a cousin who didnt train for it or prepare or eat breakfast and she suffered badly, we were doing 15 minute miles from mile 3 and walking and stopping at every toilet and st johns, at mile 13 she collapsed and ended up in hospital,  her boyfriend  went with her and I carried  on though by this time a 5 hour finish was long one, I ended up doing 6 hours 50 minutes.

So for 12 months that time has annoyed me and pushed  me on to train hard for yesterdays marathon. I lost 3 stone since xmas and improved my times amazingly, my 10k went from 1 hour 35 to 53 minutes, I could do 8-9 minute miles rather tthen 13-15 before, I could do a half marathon in traiing gear in 2 hours no problem, 22 miles took me 3 hours 45 minutes.

So my aim for yesterday was if it all clicked a 4 hour time or 4 to 4.20 ish time.

It all started off badly, I was penned in and couldnt run at my pace, I was doing 10-11 minute miles and not the 8-9 I did in training. At  halfway point it was 2 hours 20 minutes, id planned to run 14 miles in 2 hours so only 1 mile more then training so not pushing myelf too much but then that gives me 2 hours to get 12 miles done which I can do easily even if I tire.