Fatman to Ironman

Comments

• "I may be a rubbish swimmer but i worked as a diving instructor for 4 years so feel comfortable in lakes & sea."

let's see how you cope with swimming in OW. one of the original pirates is an experienced diver, yet he always freaked swimming in OW - bizarre.
  • fat buddha wrote (see)
    "I may be a rubbish swimmer but i worked as a diving instructor for 4 years so feel comfortable in lakes & sea." let's see how you cope with swimming in OW. one of the original pirates is an experienced diver, yet he always freaked swimming in OW - bizarre.

This is a big topic on this side of the pond.  I'll link one of several articles but apparently the main cause of swimming issues is actual panic attacks--nothing to do with your health. 

If you've had that almost can't breathe, etc. feeling to start an open water swim, that's the feeling.  I had a guy die within 20 feet of me at IMKY last August.  No other abnormalites but a panic attack is most likely what did him in.

Article on Tri Swim Deaths

• That is strange. I guess its what your used to. All the open water & speciality courses i taught were in the sea. Andaman sea got quite rough in the winter, a lot bigger waves than a lake for sure think i'll be ok, lol.

Right what you say about panic though. I got the bends trying to stop a divemaster from bolting for the surface once. Experienced but she just lost it in a strong current
  • panic attacks get many OW swimmers - even some experienced swimmers.

the problems often relate to the (lack of) visibility, taste/salinity, fear of the unknown (what's underneath you, buoys, chains etc), noise (motors) and then conditions such as temperature, swell, waves, currents, breakers etc. take a swimmer out of the comfort of a nice warm pool with lines to follow and stick them into a murky lake, then panic can easily set in.