pregnancy

Hi,
I'm 7 weeks pregnant (1st time) and have been suffering from abdominal pain, rightsided for most of the last few weeks. I've had an early scan and saw a heartbeat, so an ectopic has been pretty well ruled out. Appendicitis and UTI have also been ruled out. I was wondering if the pain could be due to ligaments stretching. As I am pretty toned, is this a real possibility. Doctors can't see anything, so I have been left to get on with it. It's a bit scary as it's my first time at this. Any help/advice would be really appreciated.

Comments

• Bloke alert!

Susan, my ex-wife had something similar at about this time. Very strong pains and also some bleeding and expulsion of tissue-type matter (which you don't mention). It turned out to be an ectopic in addition to the normal uterine pregancy. She too had all the scans etc, but this was very difficult to diagnose because the uterine foetus's heartbeat drowned out that from the ectopic foetus. They eventually realised what was going on, when she was so pale it was clear she was bleeding internally, and heavily so. Emergency op saved her and the uterine foetus (healthy 10-year-old boy now).

I don't want to alarm you unnecessarily, because this is apparently a very rare occurrence. But just thought I'd say, in case it's relevant.
  • Muttley,
    I did ask about this and was told there was a 1:50,000 chance of it happening, but like your wife proved, it does happen. So far I've had no bleeding, but if that changes, I'll be back to hospital in double quick time.
    Glad you had a happy outcome.
  • Can't offer any advice but hope everything is fine with you. Keep us posted?
  • I am not medical so cannot help with advice but I do hope things go well for you.