Barefoot beginner help

Hi guys,

as a total newbie to the whole running scene (running more than 50 yards is alien to me) I would really like some advice on where to start. I run a physio type clinic and treat many runners with injuries gained from running primarily, i dont want to end up like them! I really want to try the barefoot approach but is it suitable for a total beginner like myself? I would wear vibrams or vivobarefoot shoes so not bare flesh just yet! And is it a suitable technique for running in the gym on a treadmill?

Any other advice anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark.

Comments

• Well at least you wont run too far to begin with and injure yourself !

You do have to go very very gently with barefoot running and ease yourself in.

(Personally if you did the same thing with normal shoes then I doubt you'd get injured that way. I think its more of a fad than any real benefit)
  • so with a really easy starting programme would you say that barefoot would be ok as i would be going easy anyway?

And yes, 50 yards isnt far lol! maybe i can make 55...
  • Read up lots on forefoot running to learn proper technique for running in minimalist shoes.  Heel striking is out when you've got no cushioning under your feet.

There are exercises out there online also to help strenghten feet and calves for people new to going barefoot. 

Runnersworld US have a forum section dedicated to barefoot running, might be worth your while to sign up on there to hear from more experianced barefooters. image