warm up?

I am a complete beginner, I haven't even been out for one run yet, but will be doing that tomorrow. I have looked on this site and seen a getting started walk/run  guide which is what i am going to do but I wondered about warming up? How would I do that? I guess I do need to? I am a complete novice at any form of exercise and so am a total new starter in every sense of the word! I really don't want to injure myself though haha. I will be running mostly at a local park so it's a few minutes walk there, is that enough of a warm up if I do it quickly, or should I walk at normal pace? i feel really silly asking but I would rather know! lol

Comments

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭
    Walk. Walk further. Walk and jog a bit. Walk and jog a bit until you can do it for an hour. Have a couple of days off between each session for a month. Then every other day. Don't get too tired. Don't over do it.

🙂

• baldblokebaldbloke ✭✭✭
    yep, what RicF says, plus you could go walk, then brisk walk, then slow jog. don't over do it, and use one of the walk/run programmes of the Couch to 5k. 3 times a week fine to start with (or indeed forever). once you start quite enjoying it (which you will!) then go to a running shop and get fitted for trainers - bad-fitting shoes much more likely to harm you than lack of a warm-up.
  • so no need for any form of actual warm up then, thanks image

I will check out some programmes on here. Out of interest, where do you find a running shop? Again, sorry if that's a stupid question.

Thanks for the replies!

• Where are you? Search in google for running shops near your location, usually a few local running shops around.

I would like to quickly pitch in here because I have only been running for around 4-6 months and have suffered from some quite painful calf injuries, and my physio has said the main reason is the lack of warming down I do.