Options

How long until I see results?

Hey everyone image

I've started running this week. So far I've done two days of the Couch to 5k and loving it! Finding it kinda difficult, because I've never done running before, but still enjoying it!

I was wondering how long it may be until I see results in both my fitness and my body? Obviously it won't be instant, I know this! But should I expect to notice in weeks, months etc?

Bit of info, I'm a 23 year old female, 5'5 tall, weigh about 9.5 stone. I intend to run 3 times a week following the couch to 5 k plan, and also a cycle or swim session on weekends. I'd like to lose just a few pounds, less than 10 probably. Not "losing weight" really, just want to firm up a bit!

I'm also doing the 5k race for life in July and hoping to be able to run the whole thing!

Comments

• Options

I used the couch to 5k to get into running for the same reasons as you...I remember the first 3 weeks were tough but after that  and it doesn't seem like as much a jump in difficulty each week. It also gets a lot easier and more enjoyable with less stopping and starting image

If youre combining it with other exercise on weekends it shouldnt be long at all until you see and feel the results! Give it maybe a month, less if your eating healthily. July is plenty of time to train up for your race, and if you stick to the 5k plan you'll easily be able to run the whole thing!

• Options