Would this work?

Ok I'm relatively new to triathlon (3 races under my belt) so sorry if this is an odd question...

After some long (ok not long but it feels like it) hours over winter on spinning/exercise bikes I've decided that I'd much prefer the pedal to be in the middle of my foot, i.e. under the arch.

I can't seem to find any cycling shoes (SPDs) that would allow this though.

If I changed to mountain bike cleats, could I hammer them straight into my running shoes? Giving me a quicker transition and a more comfortable ride?

Comments

• I am assuming you're a troll Alan, suggest you screw mountain bike cleats direct into your feet and then run barefoot
  • Ok I dont know why but as far as I can see you ride a bike most effectively when the pedal is under the ball of your foot. I suspect that like running the forefoot is the foots "sweet spot" that allows the most control and power to be transfered down to the ground or the pedal. Though the only bike I ride is to work and back I have always ridden it like this and have noticed the lack of power and control cyclist have when they ride flat footed so to speak.

• Lot harder to twist out of the cleat if it's under the arch. I have enough trouble in the normal position. Also some leverage issues.

Though I kind of see where you are coming from as I was always an "arch rider" as a lad. 

• Just ride in work shoes. You see a lot of people riding to work like this - the heel stops your foot from falling off the pedal.

It's a crap way to ride mind you.
  • RicFRicF ✭✭✭
    Probably a good idea to get fitted to your bike correctly. Size of frame and seating position.

🙂

• gastank wrote (see)
    I am assuming you're a troll Alan, suggest you screw mountain bike cleats direct into your feet and then run barefoot

Nope just a relative newbie with a question. Thanks for your friendly and measured response though, must give you a warm feeling inside being so helpful.