Lost Confidence

Hi everyone,

This is my first time to post on the forums although I've browsed them for a long time. I've been runing fairly consistently for the past 3 months, coming from a not too bad fitness base. I've been running 5/6 times a week, 4 of these with a club and the rest in the gym. Went away last week on a training weekend and we trained twice a day. Really enjoyed it and got alot of encouragement. 

Got back on tuesday and decided  to take the day off as I was wrecked, wednesday tried to run but calves felt tight and were burning. And then at training on thurs, an easy 4 mile, I just really struggled and have never found a run so long. Bear in mind I've been doing the 10 mile long run on sundays. 

Now I just feel so disheartened and discouraged. I felt great when I got back on tues but I feel like I was just fooling myself and I'm actually awful at running image I really found like my confidence was improving(part of the reason I started running, wanting to lose a bit of weight and actually achieving something). I've been so low the past few das and just can't shake it. Didn't go to training yesterday or today - although I did go out myself today and made a feeble attempt. 

Has this ever happened to anyone else ? I was enjoying the running so much and now I feel, just blah. I'm not overweight but I'm heavy enough and I feel like I'm just plodding along and people must be just laughing at me. I'll stop now before I work myself up more.

Hope someone has some advice, sorry for the moan ! 

Comments

• mathschickmathschick ✭✭✭

I think you have just overdone it at the training weekend. Have a week off and let your body recover, Then try again.

If you are new to runnning most of your miles should be fairly easy or you run the risk of injury.

• dprovandprovan ✭✭✭