Best value devices for tracking running distance

Hi Everyone

I've finally made the transition from running on a treadmill to running outdoors and was wondering if anyone knows what is the best devices for tracking distance?

I've used Runkeeper in the past but was looking for a watch to invest in.

I've had a look online but the majority are in excess of £150.00 (I'm a beginner so only need something basic)

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Forerunner 110 - just over £100, or go 2nd hand. Some use their smartphone but I've no experience of that.

Other option, just get a normal stopwatch - we all used to use them perfectly well before GPS!

You can team that up with websites such as mapmyrun, or fetcheveryone, and get a pretty accurate measurement of your course either before or after you run. If you regularly run the same rout, you won't have to plot them out so often. The only downside is that you don't get "on the fly" pace feedback, but I just used to have a watch which recorded multiple laps, and just had set points on each course where I pressed lap, and so knew whether I was on pace or not.

• forerunner 205 - bloody brilliant for the money image

• When I started I used a map and a piece of string. Bloody brilliant value
  • Silly man. How do you think people measured things before Garmins came out. Grow up and keep your childish insults to yourself.
  • I am hoping to get a Garmin at some point but they're pricey as you say, so I use a stopwatch and a website called walkjogrun to map out routes. I have my favourite routes mapped and memorised, along with the mile markers along the way and if I go off route, I'll just take a guess at what sort of pace I'm doing per mile and use the stopwatch to roughly gauge the distance. Then, when I get home, if I really want to know how far I went, I plot it on the website.