Edinburgh Marathon fear!

So, I'm running my first marathon next Sunday and I'm feeling very nervous! I started training in January and have completed around 300 miles since -  a few 10 milers, a couple of half marathons, 2 16 milers, an 18 miler and a 20 miler but due to netball commitments I was only completing 2 other runs during the week. I was completing my longer runs at 9m30sec miles and my shorter runs (10k or under) at 8m30sec miles and felt reasonably good during all but one long run. Does this seem like enough? I was hoping to finish somewhere around the 4h30mins mark but finishing strong is my main goal. Any thoughts would be very welcome!

Comments

• Doesn't sound to me like you should have anything major to worry about - you've put in the training, you've done the long runs, and you say you were pretty comfortable on them too. 4hrs30 doesn't strike me as over-ambitious based on the training paces you mention, but it's good that you're not too hung up on achieving it. Don't rush off too fast at the start; think slow and steady and you should be fine.

You've done loads more training than a lot of the people that are on here asking 'Have I done enough?' the week before their first marathon. It's not my first marathon, but I'm doing Edinburgh too and you've done loads more training than me - my last long run was 18 miles over a month ago as I've been resting a pulled calf that's been slow to go away. I'm totally confident of finishing and in roughly the same time that you're hoping for.

Does that make you feel a bit better about it all? image

• Yes, that helps a lot. It's always good to get advice from someone who has a completed a Marathon before. I hope your calf doesn't give you any trouble during the Marathon and that you enjoy the day!
  • Cheers Vicki. I already know I'm going to have a great day - even if I have to hop the last 5 miles I'll still be enjoying myself. I just love taking part in big events...