Beginer who has come to a brick wall

Hi, I'm 48 and just started jogging , never been one to exercise,but always fancied jogging. I have just finished an ease into 5k app and have slowly started to jog, but now feel I have hit a brick wall,I can't seem to get past my new time etc and im starting to feel deflated .. Has any one got some good advice how to up my game and start to enjoy my jogs again... Thanks

Comments

• Unfortunately I can't help as I am just starting out, but i'm sure there is someone here to offer some advice to help you.

Sending some Cyber Motivation your way x

• Thanks Rachel ... How's it going for u...
  • Slowly for me Angela!! But I only brought my running shoes wednesday. Went out for a run yesterday morning and managed a lap of the field with the dogs so hopefully I'll start to improve now I have my shoes image
  • I don't feel confident enough to do a race... I can only manage 12 mins top straight run then I struggle with my breathing.. I have to catch my breath then start again.. I don't have the stamina and I am 3stone over weight ..is this a excuse?. My hubby says so which make me feel bad and dont enjoy it...it's a visious circle image
  • Same with me Rachel but the right shoes do make a huge difference .... I seem to have slowed down cause I'm so hard on myself..,
  • Hi Angela,

It's really hard at first, but it does get better, honest image. If you can run 12 minutes already before you start to struggle, it sounds like you're doing really well!

If you're struggling with breathing, you're probably trying to run too fast. It takes a while to build up aerobically, so just slow it down a bit and you'll probablt find you cn keep going for longer. Also, if you start struggling just walk for a bit then try running again after a while. A lot of people build up this way and I certainly did. 

At the start it's time on your feet that's important, not the speed....that will improve with time.