Once a beginner, always a beginner

Well, I seem to have gone back in life to the time that I was a beginner to all his running lark! Yes I have ran a few races in the past with my ultimate race being the Eden Project half marathon. To some that doesn't sound like much of a beginner but here lays my problem. I get into the swing of things, start slow and short, build the distance up while remaining slow, vary my training bla bla bla, enter a few races and then decide to take a leap and go for a bigger race or try to get a personal best. I do it and feel good about it but every time I complete a race which I either a) try for a pb or b) try a distance further than my farthest, I end up not running for weeks which then turns into months. It is like a self fulfilling prophecy, I think I don't need to run because I have managed to run this (insert distance) race and then before you know it three or four months have past. The most recent one being six month long with no running. Now I am back at square one, getting my shorts, top and trainers ready for the morning repeating the mantra "you will go for a run tomorrow". The silly thing is that I know that if I can string a week of running every other day I will be hooked again and the bug will have bitten me. Does anyone else have this problem or is it just me? Have you been in this situation and managed to find some miracle solution (other than not running, although this is runners world and not couch potatoe world so I doubt it on he not running idea)? Anyway, enough of my mind spilling out onto the world wide web. Hope your evening is going well. Ant

Comments

• Hmm, it does not put the paragraphs in so it now looks like I can not type. Sorry.
  • Hog-mouseHog-mouse ✭✭✭

I think it's a common problem. Not just for runners but for anyone with anything.

You set yourself a goal, achieve your goal then the anticlimax.