Backwards instead of forwards..........

Hope everyone has had a great extended bank holiday.

I've been running for approx 2 months now and although I appreciate i'm still a newbie my running over the last week feels as if i'm back at square one again.

Today I could barely run at all, had cramps in both legs after 5 minutes and was so fed up I wondered why I even bothered to try.

Sure i'm not the only one but how to do you all get over bad runs?

Would be so easy just to throw in the towel but have signed up to the Great South Run in October and don't want to let my charity down.

Any tips greatly appreciated

Comments

• hi sarah cramps not good what ever you do dont give in the hardest bit is done. not sure what is causing cramps 1st have you changed anything to bring on cramp restricted either fluid or food do you stretch enough both pre and post run .sometimes things like this happen but more than likely there will be a simple answer are you doing the same route

• Hi Sarah I had the same thing a few days ago urgghh I just couldnt run much distance at all and was worn out..baffling..I have recently purchased the Lucozade gels online at www.lucozade.com which I normally take before and during my run but this particular day it had no effectimage (blame it on the weather)

I also play football in a womens team as well as coach youth girls and I was told once by a chemist after suffering severe cramp in both calves during a game that drinking a bottle of water with Diorylite before and during is just as good at preventing cramp as taking salt tablets.  I also suffered slight cramp in a run recently after I hadnt consumed enough carbs...lightly salted popcorn is good to nibble snack on...(in my humble opinionimage)

You can do this...keep going....dont give up....