An ex-smoker...

Hi Guys

Im new to this!! Im currently 29 years old and i gave up my 14 year smoking habbit about 10 weeks ago.

I have just started running, and im really enjoying it. Only one problem though...

I can only run for a couple of minutes before becoming out of breath. This is clearly because of being lazy and smoking too much for all those years. But i was just wondering if anyone had any tips to increase my fitness levels.

Nice to meet you all by the way image

Comments

• BookyBooky ✭✭✭

Hello image

Excellent decision to quit smoking - well done!

I'm guessing you already know the answer to your question - just keep at it! There aren't any shortcuts to fitness, you need to put in the time and the effort. 

Is running the only activity you do? Challenging your body with various exercises is a good idea - it gets different muscles working and challenges the cardiovascular system in different ways, plus it helps to prevent boredom image Swimming, biking, gym classes, rock climbing, skuba diving... whatever you fancy really image

Another thing - it could be that you need to drop your pace whilst your body adapts to running training. go too hard and too fast, and you're more likely to get out of breath and not be able to sustain it! What sort of runs are you doing? Distance/time?

• It's a good idea to have a schedule to follow. You could Google c25k "couch to 5K" or look for a beginners 5k plan on the training tab above.
  • Hi there MJH187

I've been running for about 2 years now but just recently started browsing the runners world website.  when i saw your post i signed up for an account just so i could reply.